Who Won The World Series In Baseball This Year?

Did you know that the Boston Red Sox won the World Series in baseball this year? Check out our blog post to learn more about this year’s World Series champions!

2019 World Series

The Washington Nationals won the 2019 World Series. This was the first time the Nationals had ever won the World Series, and the first time a team from Washington D.C. had won since the Washington Senators won in 1924.

Washington Nationals vs. Houston Astros

The Washington Nationals won the 2019 World Series, defeating the Houston Astros in seven games. It was the first World Series title for the Nationals, who were previously known as the Montreal Expos. The Nationals went into the series as underdogs, but they managed to win three out of the first four games to take a 3-1 lead. The Astros fought back to win Game 5, but the Nationals won Game 6 to clinch the title.

Who won?

The Washington Nationals won the 2019 World Series.

Previous World Series Winners

The Fall Classic, the World Series in baseball, is the most important event in the sport. It decides who is the best team in baseball for that year. Every team wants to win it, and the players on the team that does win feel like they are on top of the world. Here is a list of the winners of the World Series in baseball for the last ten years.

2018 – Boston Red Sox

In 2018, the Boston Red Sox won the World Series against the Los Angeles Dodgers. It was the fourth time that the Red Sox had won the World Series since 1903, and the first time that they had won it at Fenway Park since 1918.

2017 – Houston Astros

The 2017 World Series was the championship series of Major League Baseball’s (MLB) 2017 season. The 113th edition of the World Series, it was played between October 24 and November 1. The series was a best-of-seven playoff between the National League (NL) champion Los Angeles Dodgers and the American League (AL) champion Houston Astros. It was sponsored by YouTube TV and officially known as the 2017 World Series presented by YouTube TV. The Astros defeated the Dodgers, four games to three, to win their first World Series championship in franchise history, and their first overall since joining the NL in 1962. With the loss, the Dodgers became the first team since 1993’s Toronto Blue Jays to lose back-to-back World Series. They had previously done so in 1977 and 1978 as well as 1916 and 1917 when they were based in Brooklyn. Justin Verlander was named as the series MVP.[1][2]

The Astros return to Minute Maid Park for Game 1 of this highly anticipated rematch against Clayton Kershaw and the Los Angeles Dodgers on Tuesday night.

2016 – Chicago Cubs

2016 marked the end of a 108-year World Series drought for the Chicago Cubs. The Cubs defeated the Cleveland Indians in seven games, clinching the title with a 8–7, 10-inning victory in Game 7. It was the first time in 71 years that a Game 7 had gone to extra innings, and only the third Game 7 to do so in baseball history.

Scroll to Top