Who Beat Seth Rollins For the WWE Championship?

Seth Rollins lost the WWE Championship to Kofi Kingston at WrestleMania 35. This was a huge upset, as Rollins was one of the favorites to win the title. Who beat Seth Rollins for the WWE Championship?

Kofi Kingston

At WrestleMania 35, Kofi Kingston defeated Daniel Bryan to become WWE Champion. He then went on to successfully defend his title against Bryan at WWE Money in the Bank. Kingston is the first African-born WWE Champion in history.

Kofi’s Road to the WWE Championship

Since debuting in WWE over a decade ago, Kofi Kingston has established himself as one of the most popular Superstars on the roster. He is a former Intercontinental Champion, United States Champion and Tag Team Champion, but he had never won WWE’s biggest prize — the WWE Championship — until he finally accomplished that feat at WrestleMania 35.

Kingston’s road to the WWE Championship began at Elimination Chamber 2019, when he replaced an injured Xavier Woods in the chamber match for a chance at Brock Lesnar’s Universal Championship. Though he didn’t win that match, Kingston’s performance earned him a spot in the six-man WWE Championship match at Fastlane 2019. He was once again unsuccessful in winning the title, but he continued to impress with his performances.

This led to Kingston being added to the WrestleMania 35 main event, where he defeated Daniel Bryan, Randy Orton and Batista to become WWE Champion for the first time. The victory was especially sweet for Kingston, as it came on the same night that his New Day stablemates Big E and Woods became SmackDown Tag Team Champions.

Kofi’s Win at WWE Extreme Rules

On Sunday, at WWE Extreme Rules, Kofi Kingston pinned WWE Universal Champion Seth Rollins in a non-title match. The victory came as something of a surprise, as Kingston is not currently one of the top contenders for Rollins’ title.

Kingston has been with WWE for more than a decade, but he has never held a singles title in the company. He is perhaps best known as one-third of the New Day, a trio that also includes Big E and Xavier Woods. The New Day is currently the longest-reigning tag team champions in WWE history, having held the titles for more than 1,000 days.

Brock Lesnar

Brock Lesnar is an American professional wrestler and former mixed martial artist, currently signed with WWE. He is a four-time WWE World Heavyweight Champion and a former UFC Heavyweight Champion. Lesnar defeated Seth Rollins at WrestleMania 35 to win the WWE Championship, becoming a record three-time champion.

Brock’s Road to the WWE Championship

Brock Lesnar entered 2019 as the WWE Universal Champion, but he would end up losing the title to Seth Rollins at WrestleMania 35. This would set up a feud between the two that would culminate in a match at Extreme Rules, where Lesnar would regain the title.

Brock’s Win at WWE SummerSlam

Brock Lesnar’s victory over Seth Rollins at WWE SummerSlam was a complete surprise to many fans. Lesnar had not been seen in WWE for several months, and when he returned, it was clear that he was in great shape. He quickly overpowered Rollins and won the match.

Roman Reigns

Roman Reigns is a professional wrestler who is signed to WWE. He is also a former WWE World Heavyweight Champion, WWE US Champion, and WWE Tag Team Champion. Roman Reigns was born on May 25, 1985 in Pensacola, Florida. Roman Reigns is of Samoan descent and is a third-generation wrestler.

Roman’s Road to the WWE Championship

After a lengthy absence from WWE programming, Roman Reigns returned at SummerSlam in August and quickly inserted himself into the WWE Championship picture.

Reigns challenged Brock Lesnar for the title at Hell in a Cell in September, but came up short in his bid to regain the championship.

WWE Universe did not have to wait long to see Reigns top Lesnar, as The Big Dog defeated The Beast Incarnate for the WWE Universal Championship at Crown Jewel on November 2.

Roman’s Win at WWE Crown Jewel

On October 31, 2019, at WWE Crown Jewel, Reigns defeated Rollins to win the Universal Championship for the second time, making him a three-time Universal Champion.

Scroll to Top