How Many Games Will There Be in the NBA This Year?

This is a question that many basketball fans are asking as the NBA season approaches. With the COVID-19 pandemic still raging in many parts of the world, it remains to be seen how many games will be played this year. Stay tuned for more updates as we get closer to the start of the season.


The NBA is one of the most popular professional sports leagues in the world, and it is also one of the most followed by basketball fans. Each year, the league typically consists of 82 regular season games, followed by a postseason of up to 28 games. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020-2021 season will look different.

This guide will provide an overview of how many games there will be in the NBA this year, as well as some key information about the league and its schedule.

The NBA’s Plans for the Season

The NBA is planning to play a 72-game regular season, which would begin on December 22 and end on May 16. The league had originally planned to start the season on November 10, but pushed back the date due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

The NBA is also considering holding its All-Star Game in March, rather than February, as it typically does. The game would be held in Atlanta, which was originally slated to host this year’s game before the pandemic forced its postponement.

It is unclear how many games each team will play, as that will depend on the number of teams that are able to participate in the season. The league is still working out the details of its plans and has not yet released any official information.

The NBA’s TV Partners

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is an American professional basketball league. It was founded in 1946 as the National Basketball League (NBL) and changed to its current name in 1949. The NBA is one of four major North American professional sports leagues, the other three being Major League Baseball (MLB), the National Football League (NFL), and the National Hockey League (NHL).

The NBA consists of 30 teams: 29 in the United States and one in Canada. The league was originally founded with only 23 teams, but has since expanded through mergers and relocations. Currently, there are three divisions: the Eastern Conference, the Western Conference, and the Central Division. Each conference is made up of five divisions: Atlantic, Southeast, Northeast, Midwest, and Southwest.

The regular season is 82 games long, which means each team plays each other team four times. The season starts in October and ends in April. The playoffs start in April and end in June.

The NBA Finals is a best-of-seven series between the champions of the Eastern Conference and the Western Conference. The series is played annually and usually starts in late May or early June.

How Many Games Will There Be in the NBA This Year?

The answer to this question is largely dependent on the coronavirus pandemic and how it affects the NBA season. As of right now, there is no set number of games that will be played. The NBA has said that they are hopeful to start the season on December 22, but that is subject to change.


As of now, it appears that the NBA is planning on playing an 82 game season. However, this is subject to change depending on the coronavirus situation.

Scroll to Top