The Best NHL Teams of the Decade

We’re taking a look back at the best NHL teams of the decade. From the 2010 Chicago Blackhawks to the 2019 Tampa Bay Lightning, these are the teams that dominated the league.

Checkout this video:

2010-2011 Boston Bruins

The 2010-2011 Boston Bruins were one of the best teams of the decade. They won the Stanley Cup and had an amazing season. Let’s take a look at what made them so great.

Main Players

During the 2010–11 season, the Boston Bruins were the defending Stanley Cup champions. They entered the season as the favorite to repeat as champions, but they were upset in the first round of the playoffs by the Philadelphia Flyers.

The Bruins were led by captain Zdeno Chara, who won the Norris Trophy as the NHL’s best defenseman. Other key players included forwards Milan Lucic and Nathan Horton, and goaltender Tim Thomas, who won the Vezina Trophy as the NHL’s best goalie.

Key Statistics

-Won the Stanley Cup in 2011
-Best regular season record in the NHL in 2013-2014
-Won the Presidents’ Trophy in 2014

2011-2012 Los Angeles Kings

The Los Angeles Kings reached the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time in franchise history in 2012, and they did it in style. The Kings went 16-4 in the playoffs that year, setting a NHL record for fewest losses in a single postseason. They also became just the third team in NHL history to win three Game 7s en route to the Stanley Cup.

The 2012 Kings were led by Conn Smythe Trophy winner (playoff MVP) Jonathan Quick, who posted a .946 save percentage and a 1.41 GAA in 20 playoff games. They also got great production from their forwards, with Anze Kopitar leading the way with eight goals and 21 points.

2012-2013 Chicago Blackhawks

The Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup in 2010, 2013, and 2015. They are the only team to win three Stanley Cups in the salary-cap era, which began in 2005. Led by captain Jonathan Toews and star forward Patrick Kane, the Blackhawks have been one of the NHL’s most successful teams of the past decade.

2013-2014 Anaheim Ducks

The Anaheim Ducks had an amazing 2013-2014 season. They had a record of 54-20-8 and their 116 points was good enough for first in the Pacific Division and second in the Western Conference. Their leading scorer was Corey Perry, who had 43 goals and 82 points. The Ducks lost to the Los Angeles Kings in the conference semifinals.

2014-2015 Tampa Bay Lightning

The 2014-2015 Tampa Bay Lightning were one of the best NHL teams of the decade. Led by captain Steven Stamkos, the Lightning won the Stanley Cup in 2015, defeating the Chicago Blackhawks in six games. Stamkos was named the Conn Smythe Trophy winner as the playoff MVP.

2015-2016 Pittsburgh Penguins

The 2015–16 Pittsburgh Penguins season was the 49th season for the National Hockey League (NHL) franchise that was established on June 5, 1967. The Penguins won the Stanley Cup for a fourth time in franchise history. It was their first Stanley Cup championship since 2009.

2016-2017 Nashville Predators

The Nashville Predators ended the 2016-2017 regular season with a record of 41-29-12, good for 94 points and sixth place in the Central Division. However, led by their All-Star defenseman Roman Josi, the Predators went on a historic run in the Stanley Cup Playoffs. After dispatching the Chicago Blackhawks in the first round, Nashville became just the third team in NHL history to win a series after trailing 3-0, coming back to beat the St. Louis Blues in seven games. The Preds then took down the Anaheim Ducks in six games before falling to the eventual Stanley Cup champion Pittsburgh Penguins in six games in the Final.

2017-2018 Washington Capitals

The 2017-2018 Washington Capitals were one of the best NHL teams of the decade. They won the Stanley Cup in 2018, and they had one of the best regular seasons in franchise history in 2017-2018. The Capitals were led by captain Alex Ovechkin, who won the Hart Trophy as the league’s MVP in 2018. Ovechkin was joined by a talented group of players, including forwards Nicklas Backstrom and Evgeny Kuznetsov, goaltender Braden Holtby, and defenseman John Carlson. The Capitals were a dangerous team all season long, and they ultimately proved to be too much for the other teams in the NHL to handle.

2018-2019 St. Louis Blues

The St. Louis Blues had one of the most incredible seasons in recent memory. After being in last place in the NHL at one point during the season, they went on an incredible run and eventually won the Stanley Cup. Their success was due in large part to their superstar goaltender, Jordan Binnington, who was a big reason why they were able to turn their season around.

Scroll to Top